Side-Events: July 06, 2021

 

10:00 – 11:30 CEST
Protein for All: The Importance of Protein Quality in Equitable, Sustainable Food Systems
Convened by Global Dairy Platform (GDP), Inter American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA), Punjab Agricultural University (PAU), Riddet Institute; Global Roundtable for Sustainable Beef; International Dairy Federation; International Egg Commission; International Meat Secretariat; International Poultry Council

10:30 – 12:00 CEST
Nourishing people and planet with aquatic foods
Convened by Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO) and WorldFish; Indian Council of Agricultural Research
Caribbean Regional Fisheries Mechanism (CRFM); Global Panel on Agriculture and Food Systems for Nutrition (Glopan); Sylhet Agricultural University, Bangladesh; Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Lilongwe (LUANAR), Malawi

11:00 CEST (9:00 GMT)
Sustainable Financing of Research and Innovation to Improve the Performance of Africa’s Food System
Convened by Forum for Agricultural Research in Africa (FARA)

12:00 – 13:30 CEST
A New Paradigm for Research and Innovation: A practical application with Forgotten Foods
Convened by Global Forum on Agricultural Research and Innovation GFAR, Alliance Biodiversity & The International Center for Tropical Agriculture is an international research and development organization CIAT, Forum for Agricultural Research in Africa (FARA), Pacific Association of Agricultural Research Institutions (APAARI), Association of Agricultural Research Institutions in the Near East & North Africa (AARINENA), Asian Farmers Association (AFA,), International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT); The Association for Strengthening Agricultural Research in Eastern and Central Africa (ASARECA); The Centre for Coordination of Agricultural Research and Development for Southern Africa CCARDESA

13:00 – 14:00 CEST (12:00 – 13:00 Abuja Time)
Transforming Food Systems from the Ground Up: The Potential of Groundwater in Achieving Food Security and Prosperity in Africa
Convened by African Ministers’ Council on Water (AMCOW); Ministry of Water and Environment, Uganda; Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform, Namibia; International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI); International Water Management Institute (IWMI); African Development Bank; World Bank

13:00 – 14:30 CEST (7:00 – 8:00 EDT)
Gender Equality, Women’s Empowerment, and Food Systems
Convened by International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) and Self-Employed Women’s Association (SEWA)

13:30 – 15:00 CEST
Achieving healthy diets for all: What are the evidence gaps constraining progress?
Convened by Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition; University of Ghana; International Union of Nutritional Sciences

14:00 – 15:30 CEST
Transforming Food Systems through Agroecology: Learning from Evidence
Convened by Swiss national FAO Committee (CNS-FAO), Bioversity International-CIAT Alliance, Institute for Research and Promotion of Alternatives in Development (IRPAD), World Food Forum (Youth Group), Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), Institut du développement durable et des relations internationales (IDDRI); CGIAR; FAO; World Food Forum (Youth group)

14:00 – 15:45 CEST
Strengthening international research cooperation on food systems

Convened by National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment (INRAE), France; University of California at Davis, USA; Pretoria University, South Africa; Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR), Australia; European Commission, The Belmont Forum; The Global Research Alliance on Agricultural Greenhouse Gases; University of Bonn

15:00 – 16:30 CEST
A Perennial Revolution of Agriculture – is it desirable, possible, imminent?
Convened by The Land Institute, KS, USA; Birzeit University, Palestine; Lund University, Sweden; Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences; Yunnan University, China

15:00 – 16:30 CEST (13:00 – 14:30 UTC)
Risks to agricultural production from air pollution
Convened by World Meteorological Organization, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Mohali

15:00 – 17:00 CEST
The role of Agricultural Research and Innovation on food systems transformation
Convened by Agrinatura and Forum for Agricultural Research in Africa (FARA), The Europe-Africa-Caribbean-Pacific Liaison Committee (COLEACP)

15:30 – 17:00 CEST (9:30 – 11:00 EDT / GMT-4)
COVID-19, food systems, and One Health in an urbanizing world: Research responses at a national level
Convened by CGIAR; RUAF; World Bank Group; Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Nigeria; Ministry of Agriculture, Ethiopia

15:30 – 17:00 CEST
The White/Wiphala Paper on Indigenous Peoples’ food systems: Indigenous Peoples’ contributions to food system’s thinking and sustainability
Convened by The Global-Hub on Indigenous Peoples’ Food Systems, the Alliance of Bioversity International and the International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT), Center for International Forestry Research and World Agroforestry (CIFOR-ICRAF), French National Research Institute for Sustainable Development (IRD), United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII), Asia Indigenous Peoples Pact (AIPP), United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO); Indigenous Partnership for Agrobiodiversity and Food Sovereignty (TIP), Sámi Parliament, Gaia Amazonas, Fund for the Development of the Indigenous Peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean (FILAC), Centre for Sustainable Development and Environment (Cenesta), INFOODS, University of Massey, Monash University, University of Cambridge, University of Greenwich Centre for Indigenous Peoples’ Nutrition and Environment: CINE McGill University

16:00 – 17:30 CEST
Bridging scientific and indigenous peoples’ knowledge for sustainable and inclusive food systems
Convened by Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (Germany); University of Pretoria (South Africa); Welthungerhilfe (Germany); Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania; Wageningen University, Netherlands; San Andrés Agricultural Institute (ITASA), Bolivia

Password: 405120

16:00 – 17:30 CEST
Priorities for inclusive urban food systems transformations in the global South
Convened by Cirad and Vietnam Academy of Agricultural Sciences (VAAS); Michigan State University, HIVOS/RUAF

16:00 – 17:30 CEST (15:00 – 16:30 WAT)
Science and Technology and Food Security: A Step Towards Greener Revolution
Convened by Global Climate Smart Agriculture Youth Network (GCSAYN); Lukenya University, Kenya; The Purdue Center for Global Food Security (PCGFS), USA; Narasingh Choudhury Autonomous College, Jajpur, Odisha, India; Inter- American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture -IICA; African Association For Vertical Farming-AAVF, Africa

16:00 – 17:30 CEST
(10:00 – 11:30 EST / 14:00 – 15:30 UTC)
Bridging the Digital Divide
Convened by The Hunger Project

16:00 – 17:30 CEST
(9:00 – 10:30 San Jose, 10:00 – 11:30 Mexico City, Bogota)
Bioeconomy for a biodiversity-and-science-based sustainable development of food systems in Latin America and the Caribbean
Convened by UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UN-ECLAC); UNESCO Regional Bureau for Science and Technology for Latin America and the Caribbean

16:00 – 18:00 CEST
(10:00 – 12:00 EDT / 14:00 – 16:00 UTC)
Engaging Stakeholders for Adaptation and Food Security: Contributions by the AgMIP A-Teams
Convened by Agricultural Model Intercomparison and Improvement Project (AgMIP), Initiative Prospective Agricole et Rurale (IPAR), University of Ghana, International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT); Columbia University

17:00 – 18:30 CEST
Climate Resilient Development Pathways for Food Systems’ Transformation
Convened by the World Food Programme (WFP) as anchor Agency for the UN Food Systems Summit Action Track 5, Resilience and the Consultative Group for International Agricultural Research (CGIAR)/International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI) with participation from the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)